Review: Its always the Husband by Michelle Martinez

About the book

516uLn119OL.jpgIt’s Always the Husband…unless it’s the best friend.

Kate, Aubrey and Jenny are inseparable at college – friends who promised they’d always be there for each other.

But twenty years later, their friendship is about to take a deadly turn.

Kate married the gorgeous party boy, Aubrey married up, and Jenny married the boy next door, but when one of the friends dies in shocking circumstances, will everyone assume that it’s always the husband? Or could it be the best friend?

I loved this book. I’m a huge fan of domestic thrillers and this new take on the genre really appealed to me. I’m pleased to say I wasn’t disappointed.  The narrative flits from the past -the three friends at college – to the present day, when something unthinkable happens and I found this really built the characters well for me. For me, the best thing about this book was the characters – each felt very real and authentic. Each has their faults and each made me want to scream at them as I was reading, but this only made for more compelling reading.

The twists and turns were gripping, but telling of the varying dynamics of female friendships was what really made this novel stand out for me.  I highly recommend this book.

Buy your copy here!

One thought on “Review: Its always the Husband by Michelle Martinez

Leave a comment